Waiter of the Year

Jaa artikkeliShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

The Waiter of the Year 2018 is Noora Sipilä. She won the competition on the 16th of March 2018 at the Gastro -fair at Helsingin Messukeskus.

Waiter of the Year is the Finnish championship for professional waiters and waitresses. Competitors get to show their skills in practice as they serve guests with culinary delights prepared by finalists of the national Chef of the Year contest held at the same time. The jury consists of Finnish and international members. The first Waiter of the Year competition was held in 2013 in Helsinki, and the first ever winner was Maria Suihkonen. The Waiter of the Year 2018 is Noora Sipilä from restaurant BasBas & Staff Wine bar.

The competing season lasts for a year, during which the winner takes part in different events, makes media appearances and works with the campaigns of affiliates. The aim of the competition is to inspire professional growth in the field and to showcase how varied and demanding the profession of a waiter can be.

To take part in the Waiter of the Year competition, you need to submit a specified assignment in advance. The assignment includes planning tasks and a set of multiple choice questions. The best of applicants will be selected to participate in the semifinals, from where the most talented will continue on to the finals. Each year three of the best will be awarded. In the finals the waiters will have a chance to showcase their hands-on skills, as they create a memorable restaurant experience for the invited guests together with the Chef of the Year -semifinalists.



Winners of Waiter of the Year 2013-2018:

2013 – Maria Suihkonen
2014 – Toni Yksjärvi
2015 – Saara Alander
2016 – Taneli Lehtonen
2017 – Ronny Malmberg
2018 – Noora Sipilä

See photos from the 2018 competition
Follow the Waiter of the Year on Facebook

For more information:

Bettina Lindfors, Executive Director, ELO Foundation
+358 40 920 9810, bettina.lindfors@elo-saatio.fi

Kirsi Yazan Development Manager,  ELO Foundation
+358 50 439 3883, kirsi.yazan@elo-saatio.fi

Noora Sipilä, Waiter of the Year 2018. © Aleksi Tuomola

Lue seuraavaksi