Ronny Malmberg is the Waiter of the Year 2017

Jaa artikkeliShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

Ronny Malmberg from Farang is the Waiter of the Year 2017! Ronny showed excellent technical skills in the competition, but truly stood out with his confidence and comprehensive ability to give his customers a marvelous experience. He made excellent drink combinations to the dishes served at the competition.

See photos from the 2017 competition
Follow the Waiter of the Year on Facebook


Waiter of the Year (Vuoden Tarjoilija) is the Finnish championship for professional waiters and waitresses. Competitors get to show their skills in practice, as they are serving guests with culinary delights prepared by semi­finalists of the national Chef of the Year contest held at the same time. The jury consists of Finnish and international members. The first Waiter of the Year competition was held in 2013 in Helsinki.

The Waiter of the Year winners:

2013 – Maria Suihkonen, Restaurant Hullu Poro in Sirkka, Lapland.
2014 – Toni Yksjärvi, Gastrobar Emo, Helsinki.
2015 – Saara Alander, Restaurant Roux, Lahti.
2016 – Taneli Lehtonen, Restaurant Muru, Helsinki.
2017 – Ronny Malmberg, Farang, Helsinki.


Waiter of the Year 2013 Maria Suihkonen (left) and Waiter of the Year 2014 Toni Yksjärvi (right). 

The ELO Foundation for Promotion of Finnish Food Culture is responsible for arranging the Waiter of the Year competition in Finland. ELO Foundation brings together food culture actors, visionaries and resources to co-operate for the good of Finnish gastronomy in Finland and internationally.

For more information:

Moila Ant-Wuorinen, Project Coordinator, ELO Foundation
+358-50 3704742,

Sini Garam, Project Manager, ELO Foundation
+358-50 587 0929,

Seija Kurunmäki, Executive Director,  ELO Foundation
0400 460894,

Lue seuraavaksi