Chef of the Year

Jaa artikkeliShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

The Chef of the Year 2017 is Mattias Åhman. He won the honoured competition on the 10th of April 2017 at the Rafla fair at Peurunka.

Chef of the Year is the Finnish championship of chefs. The contest has sparked many success stories for its winners. Chef of the Year was first held in 1995, and the first winner was Pekka Terävä from the Michelin starred restaurant Olo. The Chef of the Year 2017 is Mattias Åhman from restaurant Bhoga.

ELO Foundation has been responsible for organizing the competition since 2009. The foundation itself was established when a group of chefs and other influential people in food culture came together and set a common goal. The Chef of the Year competition, and with it also Finnish food culture, are constantly promoted to an even larger, international audience.

Since 2013 ELO Foundation has also organized the Waiter of the Year -competition. The two competitions take place simultaneously and competitors often work together. Both competitions aim to create even more appreciation for the trade, and encourage the development of professional skill in the field.

Winners of Chef of the Year 1995-2016

1995 – Pekka Terävä
1996 – Aki Wahlman
1997 – Michael Björklund
1998 – Petteri Luoto
1999 – Markus Aremo
2000 – Peppi Aralehto
2001 – Henry Tikkanen
2002 – Marko Palovaara
2003 – Ari Ruoho
2004 – Juuse Mikkonen
2005 – Matti Jämsén
2010 – Mika Palonen
2011 – Henri Kotkavuori
2012 – Eero Vottonen
2013 – Erik Mansikka
2014 – Heikki Liekola
2015 – Ismo Sipeläinen
2016 – Toni Kostian
2017 – Mattias Åhman

See photos from the 2017 competition
Follow the Chef of the Year on Facebook

For more information

Moila Ant-Wuorinen, Project Coordinator, ELO Foundation
+358-50 3704742,

Sini Garam, Project Manager, ELO Foundation
+358-50 587 0929,

Seija Kurunmäki, Executive Director,  ELO Foundation
0400 460894,

Mr. Ismo Sipeläinen, Chef of the Year 2014. © Jussi Ulkuniemi

Lue seuraavaksi